Avocado-Veggie Spring Rolls

So sorry for the recipe drought, but I think now I’ll be okay (at least I hope). Life, work and school aren’t really chasing me with torches and pitchforks and leaving everything else to suffer anymore. You could say I’m adjusting to college after, ahh, a good month 😉

And besides the cool stuff I’m learning in college, I learned something else too: sometimes if you want to fit everything in, you’ve gotta get up early, stay up late, and maybe do stuff tired. And also, maybe winding down a bit to adjust to something new isn’t so horrible, as long as you don’t give up on pursuing what you truly care about.

*END OF RANT*

Avocado-Veggie Spring Rolls

So, hey there awesome people 🙂 You probably remember me mentioning these totally great spring rolls in a recent What I Ate Wednesday post. They were delicious, and they were a lot of fun to make.

Avocado-Veggie Spring Rolls (3)

So, you’ll need rice paper to make this recipe. I was able to find it right in the ethnic aisle, so be sure to snoop around at your local grocer. However, if you can’t find it there, you can always just buy it online. Any brand will do, but they have the one I used on Amazon here. If you’ve never had rice paper before, it really doesn’t have much of a taste and it’s kind of wafer-like before you wet it and a little chewy after. The rice paper makes a nice “holder” for all your veg and fillings.

Avocado-Veggie Spring Rolls (2)

If you’re not crazy about the rice paper idea, you might try the fillings in a lettuce wrap. I personally haven’t tried that just yet, but I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. That would probably be pretty awesome too! Oh, and just one more tip: don’t try to be neat when you eat these, just enjoy them 😉 Have fun!

Avocado-Veggie Spring Rolls

  • Servings: 2 (makes four rolls)
  • Difficulty: moderate
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 4 sheets rice paper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 ounces baby bella mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 ripe avocado (skin removed, pitted and sliced)
  • ½ cup julienned bell pepper (I used red, but any will work)
  • ½ cup julienned carrots
  • ½ cup prepared brown rice
  • Chopped fresh mint and cilantro, as preferred (optional but recommended)
  • Serve with: chili sauce or soy sauce

 

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a small sauté pan. Add sliced mushrooms and sauté for about three minutes, until cooked. Allow to cool to room temperature.
  2. Now that all your veggies are prepped, use my tutorial below to make your wraps.

How To Make Your Spring Rolls

Enjoy the rest of your weekend! Random thought: ooh, I’m itchin’ to make some pumpkin soup!

2 comments

Leave a Comment

