Balsamic Stuffed Zucchini

So, my squash plants (specifically my zucchini) are getting ready to offload a whole bunch of squash into my hands (and kitchen). As I’ve probably mentioned before, I’m very proud of my little dumplings. But nonetheless, I AM READY FOR ZUCCHINI.

Balsamic Stuffed Zucchini (1)

And I very much love coming up with recipes for my little darlings. Stuffed zucchini is a real favorite of mine, because you can go so many places with it and it’s mad delicious. That’s my opinion, at least. I might be biased because whelp, I LOVE ZUCCHINI πŸ™‚

Zucchini

I’ve posted a different stuffed zucchini recipe before. Stuffed zucchini is a favorite of mine and very simple to make, and the end result is very pretty and delicious… prelicious. That’s a word. I just made it up πŸ˜‰

Balsamic Stuffed Zucchini (2)

Ahh, lovely. Yummy healthy food makes me happy πŸ˜€

Balsamic Stuffed Zucchini

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3 small zucchini (after you hollow them out, you’ll want to save and chop 1/2 cup of the flesh to use in the stuffing)
  • 1 cup cooked brown or wild rice
  • 3 tbsp chopped roasted red peppers (the kind in a jar)
  • 1/2 cup shredded vegan mozzerella cheese
  • 2-3 leaves each fresh oregano and basil, chopped
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar (and extra for drizzling)

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 F. Have a rimmed baking sheet near your work surface.
  2. Slice zucchini lengthwise. Hollow out the middle using a melon baller leavingΒ about 1/4-1/2 of an inch of the flesh on the zucchini. Remember to save 1/2 cup of the removed flesh for the stuffing. Place unfilled zucchini on your baking sheet.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine chopped zucchini flesh, rice, chopped red pepper, vegan cheese, herbs, salt and pepper, and balsamic vinegar.
  4. Fill zucchini boats with equal amounts of filling. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until zucchini is soft and vegan cheese melts.
  5. Drizzle with extra balsamic vinegar, if desired. Enjoy!

So, what’s going on in your garden? Any plants treating you particularly well? Maybe you had an unfortunate encounter with pests (as did my kohlrabi)? I love hearing a good garden tale πŸ˜‰

6 comments

  1. These look so perfect! They could absolutely go straight into the menu of a restaurant.
    I’ve never had stuffed zucchini before. Do they get really soft after baking? I would love to try this out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

