Southwestern Veggie Wrap

Heeeeey peeps! So, last year you might remember me mentioning I had a garden. Well, this year was my second time around the bend, and this time I did stuff differently.

For instance, this year I tried buying some vegetable plants instead of doing just seeds (which I’m totally liking the results of). I also tried a larger variety of veggies, such as eggplant, pumpkins, and jalapeno peppers.

Garden JalepenosThe jalapenos were probably the first plants I got to harvest from. I was so psyched! Those plants have made their mama proud 😀

But in all my celebratory happy-dancing, it dawned on me: what do I do with them?

Has this ever happened to any of you? You pick out a plant, and think “Hmm, this’ll be fun to grow. I like spicy stuff.” And a couple months later you’ve got a whole mess of them hanging off your plants and no clue what happens next.

So I’ve been tossing ideas around. I thought about pickling them, which I’ll probably end up doing anyways. I realized I could throw them in some fresh salsa, dips, anything that could use a bit of zip…

Southwestern Veggie Wrap (3)… Like this wrap. If you’re a fan of zip, you’ll find it adds just the right amount of ka-pow but isn’t too overpowering. And it also really meshes with the creamy avocado and sweet corn. I could seriously eat this wrap all day. I’m not even kidding.

Here’s to enjoying the fruit (and veg) of our labor!

 

Southwestern Veggie Wrap

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy-peasy
  • Print

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 of your favorite tortillas (I’d go with whole wheat, but use your preferred kind)
  • 1 ripe avocado, mashed
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • 1/2 cup corn (fresh is best, but you can use canned if it’s all you have)
  • 1/2 cup cooked black beans
  • Bell pepper, finely sliced (as desired)
  • Chopped romaine lettuce (as desired)
  • 1 small Jalapeno pepper, finely chopped (totally optional) Please be careful when handling hot peppers.

 

Directions:

  1. Start by spreading half of the mashed avocado in the middle of each tortilla. Spread half the salsa on each wrap.
  2. Top each wrap with half of the corn, half of the black beans, and bell pepper and chopped romaine as desired.
  3. Top them off with the chopped jalapeno, if using. It’s worth saying twice: be careful with your jalapeno, but especially do not touch your eyes. 
  4. Roll your wrap. To stop your fillings from leaking out the sides, fold in the sides of your tortilla before you roll it. Enjoy!

So, has your garden been pummeling you with produce? How are you making use of your fresh-picked veg? Feel free to share your favorite recipe using jalapenos, too!

 

Enjoy your weekend, guys! 😉

Leave a Comment

