Daniel Fast, Part Four: Spinach Carob-Coconut Bars

I’m gettin’ a little excited…

First of all, I want to congratulate Cheryl, Bethany, Debra, Vicki and Lia on winning my giveaway! Woo-hoo! I’ll be sending each of you guys an email later on how you can get your prize. Once again, congrats!

But anyway, this would also be the wrapping-up post of my Daniel Fast series. Before we get into that spinach bar (because I know what you’re thinking), I actually learned something with this. As you probably know, agave nectar was one of my restrictions on this fast. This experience actually made me realize how often I use the stuff. Not that I think agave is a bad thing, but too much of a good thing is… well, you get the picture. It’s no good to be dependent on something, so I think date paste/syrup will be finding itself in my diet more often.

Spinach Carob-Coconut Bars (2)But wait a minute, where were we? Spinach… in where? That’s right people, I am shameless. But unless you’ve got x-ray vision or something, you would have a heck-a lot of trouble noticing it in there. In fact, if you were only going by taste, I’d say it’s a couple steps and a shout from an almond joy (rather a pecan joy, if that’s a thing).

These bars taste spinach-tastic. So if you’ve had a hard week, you deserve one. If you’re about to graduate from anywhere, you do too. If you even think you deserve one, you deserve one. Heck, we all deserve one, right?

πŸ™‚

So go enjoy one with your sunny weekend!

 

 

Spinach Carob-Coconut Bars

  • Servings: 10 bars
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 3 tbsp carob powder
  • Β½ cup peanut butter
  • ΒΎ cup date paste
  • 2 cups fresh spinach (I used baby spinach)
  • 1 cup fine coconut shreds, toasted (I toasted them in the oven at 350F for 5-10 minutes, stirring semi-often)
  • ΒΎ cup chopped pecans

 

  1. Line a 8×8 pan with parchment paper and spray with oil. Set aside.
  2. Place oats, carob powder, peanut butter, date paste and spinach in your food processor and process for a minute or so, until spinach is completely blended in. Stir in toasted coconut and pecans.
  3. Scoop mixture into lined pan and press down. I found it helpful to cover it with wax paper and press it down with my fingers. Once you have the mixture in an even layer, cover the layer with the same piece of wax paper you used to press down the mixture. Place bars in the freezer for at least two hours, until set and firm. Cut into ten bars and enjoy!
  4. Store extra bars in freezer. Thaw for 5-10 minutes when you want to use them.

 

Happy weekend! πŸ™‚

4 comments

  1. These look so good! Making them (just printed it). I don’t use Agave in anything (read to many things negative about it) I love the Date syrup etc. Love your blog!

    Like

    • Thank you, I hope you really enjoy them πŸ™‚ I don’t know if I’ve ever heard anything negative about agave, I guess I’ll have to do some research. In any case, I’ll certainly be using the date syrup more often, it’s really awesome. Thanks for comin’ on by, I’m glad to have you here πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Comment

