Daniel Fast, Part One: Minty Zucchini-Mango Smoothie

Happy Friday!

I don’t know if you’re like this too, but I really like trying new things. I enjoy seeking out ideas to help me become better and healthier. Maybe you’re the same way? Anyhow, I’ve been doing some research lately about Daniel fasting, and it sounds pretty cool. It’s not much more than a simpler form of veganism, and it seems like a really great way to purify your diet, if just for 21 days.

So, what is a Daniel fast? Basically it’s a stricter, truly whole-foods kind of veganism. Fruits and vegetables are obviously allowed, along with unrefined whole grains, nuts and seeds, water and juice, high-quality oils such as olive and sesame, preservative-free nut butters and natural seasonings.

Similar to veganism, meats, fish and dairy products are excluded, but other unallowed foods include leavening and leavened breads, tea, coffee, soft drinks, sweeteners and processed foods. It seemed a little daunting to me at first, but it sure sounds like a great way to give your system a break! 😉

I’m going to try this over the next 21 days. If you’re as fond of experimenting as I am, I’d happily welcome you to participate as well, if you feel that you’re able. Of course, Daniel fasting (as well as any type of fast) is usually done to draw nearer to God, as is my purpose; but if you’re rather looking to give your system a break or give veganism a try, you’re absolutely welcome to come along for the ride 🙂

In four posts (including this one) I’ll be sharing some recipes that work with the Daniel fast as well as a linky roundup as a resource for you, my lovely readers. I’ll also be sharing some of my experiences with the fast in my posts. If you join me, you’re welcome to share your experiences in the comments section as well. I hope you stick around and enjoy my posts and recipes, whether or not you participate 🙂

 

Minty Zucchini-Mango Smoothie

serves one

 

Ingredients:

½ zucchini, peeled or unpeeled (whatever your preference)

½ ripe avocado

½ small banana, frozen

1 cup frozen mango chunks

10 fresh mint leaves

1 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk (I used coconut)

a couple ice cubes, if desired

 

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Enjoy!

 

Enjoy your weekend 🙂 Don’t forget to come back next week for the linky roundup!

2 comments

Leave a Comment

