Tangy Kale Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

UPDATE: I was at the Cheesecake Factory again the other day, and went to order the kale salad again. Unlike the first time (where I was told the dressing was vegan), my server told me that the dressing may contain egg. My first thought was that they changed their recipe since I had it last, but it also could’ve been a miscommunication between me and the waiter. Just don’t forget toΒ always ask your server and be specific πŸ™‚ My server the other day recommended an oil and vinegar dressing with lemon juice instead, which is probably your best bet. I stirred in a sugar packet at the table for the sweetness, and it tasted great πŸ™‚

 

Happy Friday everybody! πŸ™‚

I went to The Cheesecake Factory recently on a day out with my mom and aunt. I was expecting to have a hard time with the menu, but I looked it over for a bit and found a kale salad. I thought it sounded pretty alright, so I gave it a shot (sans cheese, of course). It was awesome.

The slightly crunchy kale was perfectly complimented by sweet grapes, and sliced peppers gave it a great pop of color. The quinoa added some nice texture (as well as protein), and a sweet lemon vinaigrette tied everything together. If you ever find yourself in a Cheesecake Factory, I recommend it!

Tangy Kale Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette (2)But if you’d rather eat at home, you can still get the same delicious flavors with this recipe. Did I mention that it’s super easy to make? Go for it!

 

Tangy Kale Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

serves four

Ingredients:

1 bunch kale, destemmed and chopped

2 cups grapes (any color), halved

1 bell pepper (I used orange, whatever color you prefer), thinly sliced

1 Β½ cups prepared quinoa

salt and pepper, to taste

Vinaigrette:

Juice from 4 small lemons

2 tbsp agave nectar

 

In a large bowl, toss kale with grapes, bell pepper and quinoa. In a small bowl, whisk together the lemon juice and agave nectar. Pour over salad and toss. Set aside for 20 minutes to allow the vinaigrette to soak in and kale to wilt a bit. Taste for salt and pepper, toss again and serve.

 

Enjoy your weekend, guys! πŸ™‚

 

9 comments

  1. I’ve never eaten this salad at the Cheesecake Factory but someone told me about it and you’re the second person to recommend it…and now you shared your great recipe with us! Thank you! I love all these ingredients, especially kale…it’s so good for you!
    Happy weekend and happy cooking!
    *Lia

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi! I just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award because I love your recipes and blog!!! I’ve been following your post for a while now and love your work.

    Like

Leave a Comment

