Zucchini-Carrot Cupcakes with Avocado Icing

So, this week was my vega-versary! I’ve been a vegan for two years, and I’ve been enjoying every minute. And I just want to say that if I could stick it out, probably anyone can 😉

I sometimes like to reflect on the progress I’ve made on my vegan journey. Being vegan doesn’t automatically mean you’ll eat healthier (there’s a lot of vegan junk food out there), but I’ve found that I am eating a lot healthier than when I started.

I’m incorporating more fruit, veggies and whole grains in my diet now than I was even last year, not to mention I’ve made refined sugar and white flour very occasional. I’m always looking for new ways to improve my diet and live a healthier life.

Again, if I could do that, anyone can. I really want people to find what works for them, and you will as long as you listen to your body and are willing to put in the effort. It doesn’t have to be a big leap, either; as long as you’re always improving, you’re on the right track 🙂

So I made these cupcakes for Easter this past Sunday, but luckily I had some leftovers to celebrate my vegan-ness as well. I have to tell you, these cupcakes are crazy moist (zucchini, anyone?) and are mostly made up of veg. For the avocado icing, I even subbed in some carob powder for the vegan chocolate chips for a richer chocolate flavor with less of the sugar. These are probably the healthiest cupcakes I’ve made in my life. Really.

Zucchini-Carrot Cupcakes

Cheers to eating healthy! 🙂

 

Zucchini-Carrot Cupcakes with Avocado Icing

makes about 12 cupcakes

 

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg

¼ tsp salt

¼ cup agave nectar

½ cup almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)

¼ cup oil

1 cup shredded zucchini

1 cup shredded carrot

 

Icing:

1 recipe avocado pudding (I subbed in ½ cup carob powder for the 1 cup vegan chocolate chips.)

 

Make the pudding first so it has time to chill and thicken before you need to ice the cupcakes.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a cupcake pan with 12 liners.

In a small bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. In a separate larger bowl, mix the agave, almond milk, and oil. Add the dry ingredients to the wet, whisking until well incorporated and mixture is smooth. Add zucchini and carrot (it will seem like a lot), stirring thoroughly until well combined.

Fill each liner halfway with batter. Bake cupcakes for 15 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean. Allow to cool before icing with the pudding.

Tip: if you want to get the icing swirl like in my pic instead of spreading it on with a knife, put the pudding in a ziploc bag and snip off one of the bottom corners. Then you can just squeeze it on and top them with some chopped nuts if you want a nice crunch.

 

So, do you have any tips or suggestions for eating healthier? Feel free to leave your comment below! 🙂

 

P.S. I shared this recipe at the Plant-Based Potluck Party. You might want to check it out!

15 comments

  1. always appreciate the dessert recipes!

    i can eat the same stuff day in and day out for my regular meals, but I do appreciate variety for the treats

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy vega-versary!!! Love it!!
    These cupcakes look divine and I wish I had one (or two, or three) with my tea this evening….
    I agree that we have to listen to our bodies to see what is right for us. I’ve been drinking more water recently than ever before in my life and now, I really crave it and need to drink water every day. I never used to be like that and I’m glad I listened to what my body needed!
    Cheers to you and happy weekend!
    Lia

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i have always loved carrot cake so this recipe for zucchini carrot cupcakes really got my cravings going! And the chocolate avocado topping made my day!I can’t wait to try your healthy, vegan recipe ASAP! I am delighted that you shared your delicious ecipe with us at the Plant-based Potluck Party. I appreciate it. I’m pinning and sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

