Zucchini Primavera

Whelp, it seems like Spring is finally here, hopefully to stay. I mean, I can finally see the grass in my backyard, tulips are popping up in front of my house, I’m excitedly planning out my garden for the Summer. I’d like to keep it that way, if you’ll please. No seriously, if I see even one more flake of the white stuff before next November, I’m gonna lose my cool šŸ˜‰

And Spring is a really great time to get some really fresh flavors into your meals. I personally really love pasta primavera because of all of the crisp veggies, the hint of sweetness you get from the sauce, maybe a punch of vibrant herbs to liven things up. Uh, yes please!

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m not a huge fan of pasta. Pasta can have a tendency to make dishes seem more heavy, which is not what we’re going for here. Enter spiralized zucchini! It gives the dish a nice crunch and flavor while also keeping it light and fresh, just the way primavera is supposed to be šŸ™‚

Enjoy!

 

Zucchini Primavera

serves about two

 

Ingredients:

1 large or 2-3 small zucchini

olive oil

1 cup asparagus spears, chopped into one-inch sticks

1 cup (about one small) bell pepper, sliced into thin strips

1 cup broccoli florets, fresh or frozen

1 cup peas, fresh or frozen

Ā½ cup grape tomatoes, halved

 

Sauce:

1 medium yellow/white onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp flour

Ā¾ cup coconut milk (the canned kind)

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

small handful (6-7 leaves) basil, chopped

 

Chop the ends off of your zucchini, and peel if you prefer. Spiralize, place in a colander and sprinkle with salt. Set aside.

Heat 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Add asparagus and peppers and steam for 10 minutes. Add broccoli and peas and steam for another five minutes. Add tomato halves and steam five minutes more. Remove veggies from pan and set aside for now.

To make the sauce: Heat 1 tbsp oil in pan with onion and garlic over medium-low, cooking until onions are translucent. Add flour and stir to coat. Stir in coconut milk and nooch, simmering until sauce thickens (it will be a bit lumpy). Salt to taste.

Add vegetables and zucchini noodles to pan with sauce and toss to coat. Warm to desired temperature. Garnish with chopped basil and serve.

 

Thanks for reading! šŸ™‚

8 comments

  1. I love the coconut milk sauce in this recipe! I bought a Vegetti spiralizer so I can’t wait to try this dish! I am delighted that you shared your healthy and delicious Zucchini Primavera recipe with us on the Plant-based Potluck Party. I appreciate it. I’m pinning and sharing.

    Like

    • Hey, thank you! I love using coconut milk in sauces, it makes them nice and creamy šŸ™‚ Spiralizing is awesome, I hope you love it! Thanks so much for hosting the potluck, Deborah. Thank you for sharing! šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Comment

