Veggilicious Choco-Chili

Is anyone else getting a bit annoyed by the snow yet? I sure am. I just have to keep reminding myself that Spring is in a few weeks. Until then, I’ll just be counting the days.

But as long as it’s still Winter outside, I’m going to be enjoying soup and chili. Writing about it. Making it. Posting it on my blog. It helps me cope with the white stuff.

And I really like having a go-to recipe that I can whip up while barely having to think about it. Chop this, mix that, throw everything in a crock pot, done.

This recipe is super easy and can be cooking in your crock pot in a snap. One thing I feel I should say is that this recipe is so delicious with fresh tomato sauce. You can make a really quick and fantastic batch with this recipe.

So if you’re into chili, I’m sure you’ll love this recipe. It’s got fresh veggies that are loaded with nutrition to keep you going, zippy spices to wake up your taste buds, a bit of carob powder to enhance the flavors (it sounds weird, but trust me: it’s amazing). With a bowl of this deliciousness in hand, you won’t even be thinking about telling the snow to get lost.

Because chili is for Winter, right? Might as well enjoy it while it lasts 😉

 

 

Veggilicious Choco-Chili

makes about 4-6 servings

 

Ingredients:

1 cup sliced carrots (peeled)

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 small zucchini, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped (any color)

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 15oz can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed

1 15oz can black beans, drained and rinsed

2 cups plain tomato sauce (for a super-quick homemade recipe, click here. Multiply the ingredients by 1 1/2, and you should have just enough)

2 cups vegetable stock

1 tbsp unsweetened carob/cocoa powder

1 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp cumin

½ tsp cayenne powder (if you like your chili less spicy, dial it down to ¼ tsp or leave it out)

 

If you’re going the homemade route on your tomato sauce, you should make that before anything else.

Add all ingredients to your slow cooker, stirring well to combine. Cook on low setting until warm and veggies are soft, about 8 hours. Serve warm.

 

Want some more recipes to brighten your day? ALOHA has a bunch of really awesome healthy recipes. Here’s a few that caught my eye:

Blueberry-Fig Smoothie

Beet Burger with Sweet Potato Chipotle Sauce (not vegan, but I’m sure it can be easily veganized)

Superfood Spaghetti Squash with Avocado Pesto

 

Enjoy! So, how do you beat the Winter blues? Feel free to leave a comment! 🙂

4 comments

  1. JUST what I needed to pop up on my screen today
    (even though I love winter)
    AND … i have almost all the ingredients in the kitchen at this very moment (I have some frozen squash I can use for a substitute)

    ty Chelsea!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Looks delicious and perfect for this longggg, snowy winter! Plus, I love zippy spices! ( I like how you wrote that!)
    Chili is indeed a cold weather food and your recipe is fab !
    Here’s though to a quick start to spring!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

