Very Veggie Tofu Scramble Wraps

Heeeeeeey guys! Guess what happened to me a couple days ago?

Well, me and my mom were at the supermarket, picking up some odds and ends, and eventually we ended up in the produce department… WELL. I happened to catch a glance of the tofu shelf (they also keep some vegan foods in the produce dept) and it was 99 CENTS. For a 16 ounce container, normal size. Yes, you read that right. I have to tell you, I’ve never seen tofu for under $1.99 in my entireΒ life. I stood there for five minutes staring at the shelf tag thinking β€œIs that right?” I then proceeded to buy seven containers of ranging firmness.

QOZ-Tofu-SaleYeah. Time to whip up some tofu recipes.

And the really great thing about tofu is that it’s so versatile. I’m all about versatility. I mean, you can throw some tofu into a skillet with stir fry vegetables for a quick nutritious dinner. You could make a righteous non-dairy ricotta for some vegan manicotti. I’ve heard of people putting soft tofu into smoothies (which I’ll probably try with some of the soft tofu I bought). One of my fave uses for tofu is in a scramble because 1) You can cram a ton of veg in there, and 2) It’s just plain delicious.

Not to mention that this recipe is a cinch to make. Enjoy!

 

Very Veggie Tofu Scramble Wraps

serves about 2-3 people

 

Ingredients:

1-2 tbsp olive oil

one 16 ounce package extra-firm tofu, drained

2 bell peppers (any color), chopped

2 yellow or white onions, chopped

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

salt/pepper to taste

2 tablespoons garlic powder

romaine lettuce leaves, as needed (I usually use about 7-9 leaves per person)

 

Heat a large skillet with 1 tbsp olive oil over medium heat. Add peppers and onions and cook until soft and onions are translucent, about 10-15 minutes. You may need the extra tablespoon of olive oil if the vegetables start to look dry.

Once the veggies are cooked, add the tofu and mash/break it up with the back of a spoon (it should resemble scrambled eggs). Stir and cook for another 5-10 minutes, until the tofu turns golden brown.

Remove from heat and stir in nooch, salt/pepper and garlic powder. Serve with lettuce leaves.

 

Alrighty, enjoy your weekend! πŸ™‚ But before you go, maybe you might want to divulge your fave tofu recipe? Feel free to post a comment below! πŸ˜€

7 comments

Leave a Comment

