Beet My Valentine Muffin Tops

I’m actually kind of looking forward to Valentine’s Day, even though I’m a singleton. Now, you might be thinking “Well, it’s kind of a couple’s holiday.” And I would have to say, well sure. But just because I’m not “coupled” doesn’t mean I can’t treat myself to some vegan dark chocolate. And it also doesn’t mean I can’t have a nice dinner out with my family. I actually kind of celebrate my singleness on that day, because being single gives me the chance to do things I couldn’t otherwise. No use in feeling bad about something I can’t do much about, am I right? 😉

Anyway, you may or may not know this, but beets are awesome. The first time I discovered that was with a nice slab of chocolate beet cake, and I’ve never looked back. Beets actually do a pretty awesome job of standing in for red food coloring—naturally. Which makes them great for making luscious vegan red velvet cake, cupcakes, muffin tops, or what have you.

OH YES. What a perfect little treat to serve to your loved ones (or yourself, hey) for a Valentine’s dessert with tea. Ahh, tea. And if you’re waiting for me to say that these would taste bad with vegan chocolate drizzled on them, you might want to take a seat. ‘Cause that’d probably be awesome. Just sayin’. Vegan cashew “cream cheese” frosting? Not a bad bet either. Lots of room for experimentation here, people, so go wild!

 

Note: This recipe uses a nonstick muffin top pan. If you don’t have one, you could just as well use a regular muffin pan. Don’t forget to spray it with olive oil or use cupcake papers.

 

Beet My Valentine Muffin Tops

Makes 6 muffin tops

 

Ingredients:

1 cup flour (I used whole wheat)

1 tbsp cocoa/carob powder

½ tsp salt

¾ tsp baking powder

1/3 cup oil (I used melted coconut)

1/3 cup agave nectar

1 egg’s worth egg replacer

1 tsp white vinegar

1 cup beet puree

1 tsp vanilla extract

 

Preheat oven to 350 F. In a small bowl, stir together the flour, cocoa/carob powder, salt and baking powder. In a separate medium bowl, whisk the oil, agave, egg replacer, vinegar, beet puree and vanilla. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, whisking until fully combined.

Pour batter equally into the muffin top pan and bake for 15-20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of the muffin top comes out clean. Enjoy!

 

I’ll be back next week, possibly with another dessert. Seeya then! 🙂

11 comments

  1. First of all, I love beets too! ( no big surprise I guess ) and most of all, indeed Valentine’s Day is for the whole world to celebrate love and friendship irregardless of coupledom or not… And it’s a great day for the excuse to eat lots of chocolate!!!!!
    😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yummy:-)-)! I’ve been using beetroot this week but in savoury dishes- for valentines too! ♡ (www.LifeDietHealth.wordpress.com) I think I might have to buy some more beetroot to experiment with a gluten free version of these! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

