Chip-licious Zucchini Bread

Tea is really great, especially in the cruelest days of Winter. I am a self-proclaimed lover of tea. French Vanilla tea is delicious, as is Green tea, Citrus tea and Camomile. Peppermint would have to be my favorite, though; it’s very soothing. If I may be frank, tea is da bomb 🙂

And as any frequent tea drinker knows, the only thing better than a piping hot cup of tea is a piping hot cup of tea with a cookie, scone, possibly cake or practically any other baked good. The problem I have is, I like vegetables. So, rather than simply reach for a box of Thin Mints, I go and I whip up a batch of zucchini cookies. Or, I’ll whip up a loaf of zucchini bread. At present, I’m totally hooked on the chocolate chip because… I mean, CHOCOLATE.

Chip-licious Zucchini Bread (2)Oh yes. Don’t you just love healthy dessert? One of my favorite things about zucchini bread is that it’s just so easy to make. In fact, I’ll bet after you make this recipe a few times you’ll be doing it with your eyes closed.

And the best part? It makes a perfect pair with your fave tea on a mercilessly chilly afternoon. Not to mention baking stuff warms up the house 😉

Enjoy!

 

Chip-licious Zucchini Bread

makes one 9×5 inch loaf

 

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

½ tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

¾ tsp cinnamon

½ cup agave nectar

1/3 cup oil (I used melted coconut oil)

1/3 cup apple sauce

2 cups grated zucchini

1 cup vegan chocolate chips (I used unsweetened, but use sweetened if you prefer)

 

Preheat oven to 375 F. Line a 9×5 inch loaf pan with parchment paper. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, salt, baking soda and cinnamon until combined. In a smaller bowl, whisk the agave, oil and apple sauce until combined. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the wet to the dry, stirring until combined. Add zucchini and stir until it is fully distributed and ingredients are thoroughly mixed. Stir in vegan chocolate chips.

Pour mixture into lined loaf pan, then bake for 45-50 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

 

Yum! Enjoy the rest of your Friday! 🙂

6 comments

  1. you’re blog came in JUST as I am gathering the ingredients for a pumpkin spice bread … and I JUST may eat the whole loaf … we ARE anticipating a nice snowstorm, right?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

