Leftover-Palooza!

So, yesterday I was pretty tired (pardon my late post). I got up at four o’clock in the morning to do some Black Friday shopping with my parents. Then we realized that Black Friday pretty much already happened on Thanksgiving. Thankfully, we were able to get some deals that made it worth the trouble.

But nonetheless, TIRED.

Lettuce WrapsSo, best part of Thanksgiving? Probably leftovers. Not only does it mean no cooking for a few days (perhaps even a week), it also means tofurky sandwiches. Or lettuce wraps. I’ve had both so far, but I think I prefer the lettuce. Love that lettuce 🙂

 

Tofurky Lettuce Wraps

Serves 2

 

Ingredients:

1 cup chopped tofurky roast

5 teaspoons vegan mayonnaise

½ cup prepared vegan stuffing

6 large, whole romaine lettuce leaves

ketchup (to taste)

 

Mix tofurky, vegan mayo and stuffing in a small bowl. Evenly distribute tofurky mixture on lettuce leaves. Drizzle each lettuce wrap with ketchup. Serve!

 

PB Date SmoothieBonus recipe! I’m sure I’m not the only one here whose obsessed with dates. Over the past year or so, I’ve grown to love them and eat them almost every day. But before that, the only time of year I’d eat them was on Thanksgiving. Peanut butter stuffed dates. Yeah.

So, here’s a smoothie recipe that’s inspired by that Thanksgiving (and now, year-round) snack. It’s really creamy, soooooo delicious, and you may find yourself shelving both servings. You’ve been warned.

 

PB Date Smoothie

Serves 2

 

Ingredients:

8 seedless dates

1½ cups almond milk

5 tsp peanut butter

½ small ripe avocado

1-2 ice cubes

 

Soak dates in 1 cup hot water for 15 minutes, then drain. Place dates in a blender along with almond milk, peanut butter, avocado and ice cubes and blend until smooth. Yum!

 

Enjoy your leftovers! 🙂

4 comments

  1. YUMMY! The photos you post along with your recipes always make me hungry! I hope you had a great Thanksgiving and kudos for braving the Black Friday sales! I stayed home this year….Hope you still got some good deals!

    Like

Leave a Comment

