A Vegan Thanksgiving, Part Three: Bananarama Freezer Cake

Groan.

I’ve been getting ready for Thanksgiving pretty much all week, all month if you count the posts I’ve written. I’ve been picking out/sketching up recipes, making lists of what ingredients I need, and getting ready for tomorrow (which is probably when I’ll be buying most of what I need for Thursday). The whole thing has been driving me kind of insane. I’m going to prepare a whole nine-yard meal for myself since I’m the only vegan in the family, so needless to say I’m a little frantic.

But I’ll get over it. Anyhow…

So, I guess you couldn’t really call this a cheesecake. It doesn’t really have that cake-y texture that actual cheesecake has. But even so, it tastes pretty darn close. Its sort of like a mix between a cheesecake and an ice cream cake. It’s still really delicious, though 🙂

But before I give you the recipe, there’s just a few things you should know: you’ll want to plan ahead on this one. When I made it, I did the crust the night before (so it could freeze overnight), then the next morning I did the filling. I froze it another two hours after that so it could set up. Just make sure you plan ahead so everything goes smoothly 😉

 

Bananarama Freezer Cake

Makes one 10 inch diameter cake

 

Ingredients:

Crust:

1 small-medium zucchini, shredded

1 ½ cups almonds

1 small avocado

1/3 cup agave nectar

 

Filling:

1 cup cashews (I used raw)

¾ cups almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)

5 medium bananas, chopped and frozen (thaw them out for 15-20 minutes before you use them)

1 cup vegan cream cheese

¼ cup agave nectar

2 tsp vanilla extract

 

Place zucchini shreds in a thick kitchen towel (the cloth kind). Hold the towel by its four corners and squeeze the zucchini over your sink to remove excess moisture. Set aside.

Then, in a small bowl, mash together avocado and agave nectar until it becomes a paste. Set aside.

Place almonds in food processor and process for 1-2 minutes, until completely pulverized and crumbly. Add zucchini shreds and avocado mixture and process until completely combined. Note: mixture will be slightly wet. Scoop crust into a 10 in. springform pan, spreading into a flat layer. Freeze overnight. Since you’ll want to soak your cashews overnight, I would start them now by putting the one cup of cashews in a small bowl and filling the bowl with water to cover them.

The next morning, drain your cashews and put them in your food processor with ¼ cup almond milk. Process until smooth. Add the bananas and process until smooth, gradually adding the other ½ cup almond milk to help them blend. Add the vegan cream cheese, agave and vanilla and process until blended. Pour filling over crust. Freeze cake for 1-2 hours, until set.

Slice and serve!

 

And here’s yet another roundup of vegan Thanksgiving recipes, now for desserts:

Vegan Pumpkin Custard

Tofu Peanut Butter Pie

Vegan Pumpkin Pie Squares

Gluten-Free Vegan Apple Crisp

Healthy Pumpkin Pie

Vegan Pumpkin-Currant Bread

 

Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

4 comments

Leave a Comment

