A Vegan Thanksgiving, Part One: Zucchini Bay Biscuits

I’ve already started planning my Thanksgiving meal. It’s not such a crazy idea, is it? Twenty days isn’t a very long time, you know. I’ll admit though, the main reason I’m starting this early is because I’m super psyched.

In fact, I’m so psyched, I’m going to do a post series! Starting with this post, I’ll be posting some of the vegan recipes I’m planning on making for Thanksgiving. I’m doing a side in this post, a main dish next week, and a dessert on the Friday before Thanksgiving. At the end of each post, I’ll include a roundup of some other awesome-looking vegan recipes of the particular course I’m posting about.

Sound good? Good. 🙂

Anyway, my thanksgiving is going to include a lot of veggies, as well as a homemade tofurky. I was thinking about doing a cauliflower mash with some nice vegan gravy, maybe a vegan cheesecake, and I’ll most definitely whip up a batch of Zucchini Bay Biscuits.

These biscuits are seriously insane. I haven’t had the actual restaurant biscuits in quite a while (over two years) but from what I can remember, this recipe is pretty much exact. The flavor is 100% there. They’re chewy in the middle yet crisp on the bottom, which makes for some serious oh-yes texture.

So if you’re looking to try a new dinner roll recipe this year, this recipe will do the trick. I mean it, they’re crazy good. Crazy.

Enjoy!

 

Zucchini Bay Biscuits

Makes about 10 biscuits

 

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons garlic powder

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon cayenne powder

½ cup water

2 tablespoons vegan butter, melted

1 cup shredded zucchini (I didn’t peel the skin, but peel if you prefer)

¾ cup vegan cheddar shreds

 

“Buttery” Topping:

2 tablespoons vegan butter, melted

1 teaspoon garlic powder

½ teaspoon dried parsley flakes

 

Preheat oven to 400 F. In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder, 2 tbsp garlic powder, salt, and cayenne. Make a well in the middle of the flour mixture, then pour the water and 2 tbsp melted vegan butter into the well. Stir to combine. Add shredded zucchini and mix well, until flour mixture is completely moistened. Stir in vegan cheddar.

On a baking sheet, drop 3 tablespoons of mixture for each biscuit. Bake biscuits for 15-20 minutes, or until golden and crispy.

While biscuits bake, stir 2 tbsp melted vegan butter, 1 tsp garlic powder and parsley flakes in a small bowl. As soon as you remove the biscuits from the oven, brush the tops of each one with the butter-spice mixture. Serve warm.

 

Yum!

 

So, as promised, here’s a roundup of some delicious sides for your Thanksgiving table:

Vegan Spinach Dip (more like an appetizer, but crazy delicious)

Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Apple Cider

Sugar-Free Vegan Cranberry Sauce (I love the fact that it’s sweetened with dates)

No-Turkey Vegan Stuffing

Vegan Sweet Potato Biscuits

Vegan Green Bean Casserole

Vegan Pumpkin Risotto

Creamy Mashed Cauliflower with Vegan Mushroom Gravy

 

Decisions, decisions 🙂 See you next week!

2 comments

Leave a Comment

