Avo-Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

So, lately I’ve been thinking I should post more than once a week here. I don’t know if I could handle doing two recipes a week and still put as much thought into it, but a little something more couldn’t hurt I suppose.

I was thinking of sharing some of my favorite quickie vegan foodstuffs that help me get my servings of fruits and veggies. Because if you’re in a hurry, I can only assume you wouldn’t have 45 free minutes to whip up some cinnamon rolls. So basically, I’d just be sharing veggie-related vegan products that are awesome. How does that grab you? Thoughts and suggestions are welcome in the comments 😉

So, anyway… about those cinnamon rolls…

Pumpkin Rolls (2)There’s actually a hidden ingredient in these, one which you may have been able to decipher from the recipe name. You can go check real quick 🙂

Now you may be thinking, who puts avocadoes in cinnamon rolls?! I do. And you can’t even taste them. It may seem a little wild to some of you, but that’s only until you try ‘em. That glaze, man, it makes the recipe. It’s the icing on the cake… or rather the cinnamon roll. Yeah, I went there 😉

I also probably don’t even need to tell you that this recipe totally suits this time of year. I mean, pumpkin. I know, I just couldn’t wait anymore. Wouldn’t one of these cinnamon rolls with a cup of pumpkin spice tea just be da bomb? And this is just the beginning for me 😉

But anyway, that’s pumpkin and avocado. Right there, in that cinnamon roll.

And it’s sooo delicious.

 

Avo-Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

Makes about 12 rolls

 

Ingredients:

Dough:

3 ½ cups whole wheat flour

2 tbsp baking powder

1 avocado

1 15oz can (or two cups) canned pure pumpkin

¾ cup agave nectar

Egg replacer equivalent of two eggs

1 tbsp cinnamon

 

Filling:

1 avocado

¼ cup agave

1 ½ tbsp pumpkin pie spice

 

Glaze:

½ cup vegan cream cheese

¼ cup agave nectar

 

Preheat oven to 375 F. In a small bowl, mash avocado into a paste with a fork. Place into a stationary mixer the mashed avocado, pumpkin, egg replacers and ¾ cup agave, mixing on low until fully incorporated. Mix in the baking powder, then the flour ½ cup at a time. Set aside.

To make the filling, mash the avocado in a medium bowl with a fork. Mix in the ¼ cup agave and pumpkin pie spice.

On a clean floured surface, roll dough mixture* flat in a large rectangle (about ½ inch in thickness) with one of the shortest ends closest to you. Spread filling in a flat layer on rectangle, leaving an inch or so at the end farthest you un-iced.

Starting at the short end near you, carefully roll rectangle into a log, keeping the un-iced end at the bottom of the rolled log. Using a very thin piece of string, carefully tie knots on the log to separate it into rolls one inch in thickness. Place rolls on a baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes, until golden and puffy.

To make the glaze, whisk the vegan cream cheese and agave nectar together in a small bowl. Drizzle on cinnamon rolls when they come out of the oven. Enjoy!

 

*Note: The dough will be a little sticky. Make sure to flour your working surface.

Update 2/1/2015: I found an easier way to cut the cinnamon roll log, instead of using a knife. Using a very thin piece of string, tie a knot on the log. The cinnamon rolls separate so much easier! I’ve edited the recipe accordingly.

 

Thanks for reading and have a great weekend!

P.S., I’ve submitted this to the VVLP. Check it out here!

13 comments

  1. I love sweet, vegan treats so I just had to hop by from Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck to see your Avo-Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls recipe! What a delectable vegan dessert! I can’t wait to try your recipe at home.I’m pinning and sharing this! All the best, Deborah

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

