Itty Bitty Zucchini Manicotti

Hey, all! I’ve been writing a lot this week. Not only am I trying to finish a novel, I’m actually thinking of writing a cookbook.

You can call me crazy if you want; I probably am 😉 I’m just that obsessed with vegetables.

It’s just an idea as of now, but a little research never hurt anyone. If it actually happens, it’ll involve a ton of vegetables and, well, awesome.

But to tell you the absolute truth, my brain is a little fried at the moment. I actually almost got writer’s block just now. Thankfully, that’s not the case; unless my writing is going in the direction of rambling –you can be the judge of that. It’s a good thing I took pictures. Lol 😉

Itty Bitty Zucchini Manicotti (2)But don’t let my ramblings stop you from trying this recipe. It is the bomb. Tofu “ricotta,” vegan parmesan and Italian spices roll nicely into a strip of shaved zucchini. I say shaved because it needs to be pretty thin. Not knife-slice thin, mandolin thin. The first time, I used the flat blade of my spiralizer, but for the sake of safety (and ease) I’d go with the mandolin. No really, mandolin.

Itty Bitty Zucchini Manicotti (3)I love mini food. I mean, come on, don’t they just look so cute?! They’re practically bite-sized!

Itty Bitty Zucchini Manicotti (4)Oh, and by the way, vegan cheese is fantabulous. Non-vegans may disagree, but I really have a leaning towards the vegan stuff. That may be because I haven’t had regular cheese in almost two years, but whatever. The fabulous way the vegan cheese melts makes me wonder why dairy still exists. I mean, anyone? I got nothin’!

So, there you have it; another sneaky way to get veggies in you. Hooray!

 

Itty Bitty Zucchini Manicotti

Makes about 35 manicotti

 

Ingredients:

Tofu “ricotta”:

1 16oz (1lb) block extra-firm tofu

½ cup vegan parmesan

2 tbsp Italian seasoning

1 tbsp olive oil

3 egg replacers

A few grinds salt and pepper, to taste

 

1-2 long and wide zucchini, peeled and ends cut off

1 ½ cups vegan mozzarella shreds (I used Daiya)

2 cups of your favorite tomato sauce

 

Preheat oven to 350 F. Make the tofu ricotta by draining the liquid from the tofu package and transferring the block to a medium bowl. Using a pastry cutter (or a potato masher), mash the tofu until it breaks down into tiny clumps. Mix with vegan parmesan, Italian seasoning, olive oil, egg replacer, salt and pepper. Set aside.

Slice your zucchini in half widthwise. Take one zucchini half and, using a mandolin, slice it lengthwise into wide strips.

Take a rimmed baking sheet and coat the bottom with a small amount of tomato sauce.

To assemble, place one zucchini strip in front of you on your working surface. Place about a tablespoon of your tofu ricotta at the edge of the strip nearest you. Roll tightly and place it end-side down in your baking dish. Repeat with the other zucchini strips. Top manicotti with remaining sauce and sprinkle with vegan cheese.

Bake manicotti for 20-25 minutes, until cheese is melty and zucchini is soft. Serve!

 

Good night everybody!

2 comments

Leave a Comment

