Sesame Cauliflower

I love feedback. I really do. In fact, it’s one of the things that keeps me posting. There’s that, the layer of my personality that’s a techno-geek and good old fruits and vegetables.

One reason I love feedback is that sometimes, it sparks my imagination. A good example is this one friend of mine that reads my blog (you know who you are). On multiple occasions, she gave my buffalo cauliflower recipe some serious Facebook love. In one particular comment, she happened to mention something about maybe using a different sauce instead of buffalo sauce.

That really got the ball rolling. I couldn’t believe I didn’t think of that. I don’t even know whether or not I would have got that left to my own devices.

That’s why I love feedback.

I mean, to turn cauliflower into sesame “chicken” was my idea, but that idea wouldn’t have existed without the feedback of my friend. Sure, the recipe is mine. But without feedback, this delicious recipe probably would not exist.

And how sad would that be? Devastating.

Your comments make a difference!

 

Sesame Cauliflower

Serves four


Ingredients:

1 head cauliflower (medium), cut into florets

1 cup whole wheat flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

1 cup water

1 tbsp garlic powder

1 tbsp chili powder

¼ tsp salt

 

Sauce:

½ cup soy sauce (I use low-sodium)

½ cup water

2 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

2 tbsp agave

1 tbsp sesame oil

2 tbsp chili paste

2 tbsp cornstarch + ¼ cup cold water, mixed together in a small bowl

2 tbsp sesame seeds

Preheat oven to 450 F. Put cauliflower in a large bowl (you’ll need this bowl later, too). In a small bowl, whisk the whole wheat flour with the garlic, chili powder and salt. Add the water to the flour mixture and pour over the cauliflower, tossing to coat. Spray a rimmed baking sheet with olive oil spray, and pread cauliflower in a flat layer on the sheet. Bake for 25 minutes.

Meanwhile, make the sauce by combining the soy sauce, ½ cup water, onion powder, garlic powder, agave, sesame oil and chili paste in a medium saucepan. On the stove, heat the sauce on high until boiling, whisking constantly. Add cornstarch mixture to sauce and lower heat, whisking constantly for another five minutes.

Put cooked cauliflower back in your large bowl. Pour sauce over it and toss to coat. Sprinkle sesame seeds over cauliflower, tossing to distribute. Serve!

 

So in the spirit of feedback, which cauliflower dish do you like better? Buffalo, or Sesame? Try both, and pick a side!

Comments are always welcome 🙂

6 comments

Leave a Comment

