Beet-Tastic Chocolate Cake with Avocado Icing

Ahh, fall.

Fall is pretty much my favorite season ever. I get psyched for the crisp air, the falling leaves, the afternoon nature walks. But let’s not forget the hearty comfort food.

I enjoy a good veggie casserole, and I’m very fond of soup. But seriously though, cake. I found an extreme amount of comfort diving into that slice of choco-beet deliciousness.

Ahh, beets.

And that’s not even the best part. Remember my avocado pudding recipe I posted a few months back? That’s your icing. When this idea combo first hit me, I almost had to take a seat. That, my friends, is two servings of vegetables. In cake. Cake, people!

BrownieBy the way, you’re probably wondering what else this delightful pudding can do. If you were around to see my sweet potato brownie post, you probably know where I’m going with this. (1) Make brownies and let cool (2) Spread avocado pudding on top (3) Cut and serve (4) Ohh yowza! Sweet Potato + Avocado = Healthiest brownie evah.

But before this post becomes about avocado pudding (as much as I love it), we’re here for the beet cake, right? Because I know if I put it off for even another second you’ll come through the computer and strangle me.

No, really. I want to get this recipe in your hands.

Go forth and eat beets!

P.S., In the picture, the middle layer is peanut butter (it tasted amazing, by the way). All you do is take 1/3-1/2 cup peanut butter, whisk it for 5-10 minutes, and spread that as the middle layer instead of pudding. If you like peanut butter, give it a shot!

 

Beet-Tastic Chocolate Cake with Avocado Icing

Makes one layer cake (9 inch diameter)

 

Ingredients

Icing:

1 recipe avocado pudding

 

Cake:

2 cups whole wheat flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

¼ cup vegan cocoa or carob powder

2 tsp baking soda

1 ½ tsp fine sea salt

1 ½ tbsp instant coffee powder

¾ cup vegan butter substitute, softened

½ c agave nectar

3 eggs worth of egg replacer (I used Ener-G)

½ cup vegan chocolate chips, melted

2 ½ cups beet puree (7-8 small beets boiled for about 45 minutes. Transfer just beets, not water, to a high-powered blender and blend until smooth)

2 tsp vanilla extract

 

First things first, make the pudding so it has time to refrigerate. It should refrigerate for at least a half hour to an hour.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray 2 small cake pans measuring 9 inches in diameter with olive/coconut oil and dust with extra flour. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt and coffee powder.

In a separate bowl, mix the vegan butter, egg replacer, melted chips, and vanilla until fully blended. Add beet puree and stir until combined. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix.

Pour batter evenly into the two cake pans and bake for 30-35 minutes, until a toothpick/cake tester comes out clean. Be sure to test multiple areas, including the center.

Allow cakes to cool, and transfer to a cooling rack. When the cakes are cooled, place one cake on a serving plate. Using avocado pudding, put a small amount (1/3-1/2 cup) of the pudding on top of the cake, spreading it to cover the whole top. Place the second cake on top, pressing slightly to make sure it sticks. Use the rest of your pudding to ice the top and sides of the cake.

Serve!

 

So, what else do you think could be done with avocado pudding? Feel free to leave your comment below 🙂

 

I’ve submitted this recipe to the Virtual Vegan *Linky* Potluck. You should check it out!

11 comments

Leave a Comment

