French-Dippy Butternut Squash Fries

I’m so beat. I don’t remember when Friday was ever supposed to be a long day, but this one sure was. I’ve been food shopping with my mom all day; from the farmer’s market to Wegmans to perhaps every store on the face of the earth. And why? Because I’m the “picky vegan” who needs special food to bring on vacation (“special food” as in vegan chocolate chips and lettuce).

Yeah, I’m going on vacation this coming week. Actually, we’re leaving tomorrow. My parent’s anniversary is the 23rd, so we’re going down to Ocean Beach, NJ to rent a nice little Oceanside bungalow. We’ll walk on the beach, suck down some smoothies, and life will be good.

If there’s one thing I learned from last year’s vacation (my first one as a veggie), it’s this: if I’m gonna be on vacation with two omnivores packing in the fattening non-vegan calories, I had better have some good stuff around too.

I mean, sure, I stuck it out, but I forgot several things that would’ve made my life a heck of a lot easier.

French Dip Fries (2)One thing I did not forget to buy today was butternut squash.

And how could I? Butternut squash is one of the (dare I say) tastiest things out there for a vegan to eat. Not to mention you can make healthy, yummy French-fry-ness with them.

Mmm… vegan provolone… melting…

 

French Dippy Butternut Squash Fries

Serves four

 

Fries:

1 small-medium butternut squash

Olive oil spray

3 tbsp onion powder

3 tbsp garlic powder

Salt and Pepper

4 Vegan Provolone slices (I used Daiya)

 

Vegan Au Jus:

1 ½ cups vegetable stock

2 tbsp vegan Worcestershire sauce

½ tsp thyme

¼ tsp pepper

1 tsp garlic powder

 

Preheat oven to 450. Cut ends of squash off and discard. Peel squash and cut into three equal pieces widthwise. Slice each piece in half lengthwise, cleaning seeds out of the bottom piece. Using a sharp knife or crinkle cutter, cut each half-piece into fries (about ½-3/4 of an inch thick) and place on a rimmed baking sheets. 

Lightly spray fries with olive oil, and sprinkle evenly with onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Bake fries for 40 minutes, flipping halfway through.

While the fries are in the oven, make the Au Jus by mixing all ingredients in a small saucepan. Place on the stove over medium heat, whisking occasionally, for about 5-10 minutes, until warm. Simmer Au Jus until you’re ready to serve it.

Once the fries are done baking, separate the fries into four equal-sized piles on the baking sheet(s). Place one vegan provolone cheese slice on top of each pile and bake fries for another 1-2 minutes, until cheese is melted.

Plate fries and serve with Vegan Au Jus. Dip away!

 

Enjoy! I’ll do my best to post next week. I’ll at least post some pictures!

Seeya!

2 comments

Leave a Comment

