NectarApple Blitz Smoothie

One thing I always wait for in the middle of Summer is nectarines. Right around the middle of June and July, the farmer’s market near my church gets them in. As soon as that happens, I’ll be getting at least two or three a week. Maybe even four, if I can’t help myself. I do try to keep a lot of variety in my diet, but I still can’t go very long without getting my nectarine fix.

NectarApple Blitz (3)Y’know what’s great about nectarines? It’s like biting into a nice, juicy, crisp piece of candy. They’re sweet and refreshing, but not overwhelming by any means. Whoever said candy doesn’t grow on trees, whelp, they LIED. BIG TIME 🙂

Usually, all I do with a nectarine is wash it and eat it right there. I started to think: there has to be more than one way to enjoy nectarines. I mean, a nectarine in its purest form is truly a treasure; but as they say, variety is the spice of life. I don’t know why it just now occurred to me, but yeah. I’ve really been missing out here.

Before doing anything drastic, I thought I’d start out with a smoothie and go from there. Maybe next, a cobbler or pie. Maybe even baked nectarines, instead of peaches? Wow, now I’m getting excited.

Nectarines might just be more versatile than I thought. This is deep stuff here, bro. 😉

 

NectarApple Blitz Smoothie

Serves Two

 

Ingredients:

1 small gala apple, cored (I prefer to leave the skin on—more nutrients!)

1 small nectarine, pit removed (again, skin on=more good)

1 small banana, frozen

1 cup almond milk (I used unsweetened)

1 tbsp agave nectar (I used it, but it’s totally optional)

4-6 ice cubes

Nectarine slice, for garnish (optional)

 

Throw everything in your favorite blender and whiz until completely blended, with almost no particles remaining.

Garnish each glass with a semicircle slice of nectarine. Serve and enjoy!

 

So, what’s your favorite nectarine recipe? Any recent experimentations with nectarines? I’d love to hear about them—so please do share 🙂

Leave a Comment

