Blueberry Fest, Part Four: Blueberry Island Baked Peaches

Y’know, I’m slowly realizing that blueberries are a very versatile fruit. I’ve seen them in so many different places: savory dishes, desserts, breads, teas, sauces, in salads, drinks, and the list goes on and on. Not to mention, they even taste good plain.

I wonder if I’m the only one who likes blueberries this much. Who knows?

In any case, blueberry sauce is a great way to get your blueberry fix. I’m sure it would even taste good on cardboard… but I prefer peaches 🙂

And instead of the usual peaches with blueberry sauce that’s already been done, I thought I’d take it up a notch and make it a very delicious island-themed dessert. I’ve added some lime juice to give it an extra tang, and some toasted coconut to really bring it home.

I’m salivating just thinking about it.

As for me, I’ll see you later. I’ve got some peaches to go devour 🙂

 

Blueberry Island Baked Peaches

Serves 4

 

For the peaches:

4 peaches

4 limes

½ cup shredded coconut (I used unsweetened, but use sweetened if you prefer)

 

For the blueberry sauce:

1 cup blueberries

¼ cup water

½ cup lime juice

½ cup agave

4 tbsp cold water

4 ½ tsp cornstarch

½ tsp cinnamon

 

Preheat oven to 350 F. Slice peaches in half, across the pit (like you would an avocado). Remove pit. Put one peach half in a small bowl and squeeze one lime half over it, coating the entire outside of the peach. Put half on a baking dish and repeat with other halves. Drizzle extra lime juice in each peach’s cavity. Bake for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, make the blueberry sauce by putting the blueberries, ¼ cup water, ½ cup lime juice and agave in a saucepan, bringing to a boil. In a small bowl, stir together the 4 tbsp cold water and cornstarch until no clumps remain. Pour cornstarch mixture into blueberry mixture and stir gently. Simmer sauce for about five minutes, until it coats the back of a spoon. Stir in cinnamon and set sauce aside.

Heat a small sauté pan over medium heat. Put in the coconut and toast, stirring often, until coconut is golden brown. Do not walk away from the pan–it cooks really quick!

Plate your peaches, drizzle with blueberry sauce, and top each peach half with an equal amount of toasted coconut. Enjoy!

 

And now, for the finale. Cheers!

Leave a Comment

