Blueberry Fest, Part Three: Blueberry-Zucchini Smash Bread

I love all fruits and vegetables, but zucchini has a special place in my heart. It’s fresh and delicious. It’s also, like all fruits and veggies, healthy. I have to say though, my favorite part about zucchini is its versatility; zucchini can be both dinner and dessert.

My love for zucchini eventually led me to plant it in my garden. I planted it straight from seeds, so you can imagine how proud I am to see some little baby zucchini coming along!

Zucchini From My Garden

And as long as I keep getting zucchini, I’ll keep making zucchini bread. Especially since zucchini bread offers so many flavor possibilities: vegan chocolate chip, cinnamon spice, and even blueberry.

Yes, blueberries and zucchini make a great pair in this recipe. Together, they provide nutrients and taste in one quick dessert: antioxidants, fiber, vitamins and more are packed right in.

It’s a beautiful thing, isn’t it? 🙂 Blueberries, you’ve done it again!

 

Blueberry-Zucchini Smash Bread

Makes one loaf 

 

Ingredients:

1 cup whole-wheat flour       

¼ tsp salt

1 ½ tsp ground cinnamon

¼ tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp baking soda                               

Egg replacer equivalent of one egg

1/3 cup oil (I used olive oil)               

1 tsp vanilla extract

½ cup agave nectar

1 cup grated zucchini

1 ½ cups blueberries

 

Preheat your oven to 350 F. Line a regular-sized loaf pan with parchment paper (or lightly grease the pan with olive oil) and set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, cinnamon, baking powder and baking soda. In a large bowl, mix the egg replacer, oil, vanilla, and agave. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet until fully combined. Fold in the zucchini, then the blueberries.

Pour mixture into your lined/greased loaf pan and bake for about 50-60 minutes, until a cake tester or toothpick comes out clean.

Let cool, slice and serve.

 

Phew! Part four already? Come back next week for a “peachy” way to get your blueberry fix. 🙂

Leave a Comment

