Finally… Banana Ice Cream!

Howdy, people! I am seriously beat. I don’t mean to complain, but have you ever had a time when things just didn’t want to work out for you?

Like, for example, you sign up for this thing called Writing 101, thinking “Oh, yeah! I’ll get blogging experience! Sounds fun!” The following Monday you get the first prompt and, going by the focus of your blog, it just doesn’t work.

And so you think, “The first day is always hard. I’ll try again tomorrow!”

But on Tuesday, you get squat. Diddly-squat. Diddly-fiddly-squat. You start to wonder how in the world you’re supposed to write both a stream-of-consciousness and a setting description on a food blog and still be taken seriously.

That happened to me. I wanted to cry.

Aside from that, I thought I’d make a whole bunch of variations of my favorite frozen dessert, banana ice cream (which, by the way, you’ll love).

So last night, I stood at my food processor for about two or three hours, throwing around almonds and cocoa powder and such, not even realizing that the sun was going down.

I’m sure a good amount of food bloggers (and photographers) would agree with me that natural light is better for picture-taking. If you’re one of them, I’m sure you understand: sun goes down, can’t take pictures. No ifs, ands or buts.

This morning (literally a half-hour ago) I started taking pictures of my ice cream in many different locations around my backyard. Then guess what happened?

My camera battery died. I had to charge it.

In the end I borrowed my mom’s camera, took the pictures, and, well, here we are.

End of rant.

If you stuck around to this point, I really hope you try this recipe. Contrary to what this post would have you think, this recipe is about the easiest “ice cream” I’ve ever made.

It’s creamy, it’s sweet; all the wonderful things you’d want from ice cream, but vegan.

V__BAD4

And so, I present to you, banana ice cream:

 

Favorite Banana Ice Cream

Serves about 2 (or, if you’re like me, just you)

 

Ingredients:

2 large frozen bananas, thawed for about five minutes

up to ¼ cup almond milk (to help the bananas blend-you may not need the whole ¼ cup)

Add-Ins from one of the variations (below)

 

In a food processor, blend bananas and almond milk until mixture is smooth. If you want plain banana, bowl and serve at this point.

 

If not, follow directions from any one of the variations below:

 

V__ABF1Peanut Butter Explosion: Blend in 2 tbsp peanut butter.

Cookies and Crème: Blend in 7 chocolate sandwich cookies. Stir in more cookie crumbles if desired.

Rich Chocolate: Blend in 2 tbsp vegan cocoa powder.V__A27D

Strawberry Banana: Instead of two frozen bananas, blend one frozen banana with 1 heaping cup frozen strawberries. Blend in 1 tbsp agave nectar.

 

V__3B94Pumpkin Spice: Blend in 2/3 cup pumpkin puree, 2 tsp cinnamon, ½ tsp nutmeg, ¼ tsp cloves, and 1 tbsp agave nectar.

Almond Crunch: Blend in 1 tsp almond extract. Stir in ½ cup chopped almonds.

 

Just so you know, I might give an update in a future post with more flavors, because I’m sure I missed some good ones.

If you have any suggestions, be a dear and leave a comment 🙂

Leave a Comment

