Tasty Two-Variation Grilled Lettuce

Lettuce is one of my best friends. I know it sounds weird, but lettuce and I have a very special relationship. It’s fresh, it’s crisp, and it’s the perfect fallback for a vegan dining out. I’ve eaten it plain, I’ve eaten it with homemade dressings, and yes, I’ve eaten it grilled.

Grilled lettuce offers a certain flavor that regular salad just can’t capture. It’s the kind of flavor that’ll make you want to grill lettuce in the middle of a snowstorm. Not that I have, but I can’t say I haven’t had the urge to.

But there’s nothing like grilled lettuce (at least, for me) to make you want summer.

And finally, summer is here! So I’m going to make the most of it; throughout the summer, a pretty good amount of my dinners will be grilled lettuce with a side of watermelon. 🙂

Grilled Lettuce (1)

In fact, I’ll probably be buying heads of romaine by the truckload. Because the 11 heads of romaine currently growing in my garden, well… I just can’t see them lasting all that long.

Yep. I love it that much. Frankly, it’s an obsession.

And after you try it, you may find yourself becoming just as hooked as I am.

Here’s to grilled lettuce!

 

Tasty Two-Variation Grilled Lettuce

Serves 2 (1 whole romaine heart per person)

 

Ingredients:

2 hearts romaine lettuce

olive oil

Variation 1: Balsamic Vinegar

Variation 2: Old Bay seasoning/Vegan grated Parmesan cheese

 

Slice romaine hearts in half lengthwise. Place on a tray and drizzle with olive oil (about 2 tablespoons per half-heart).

Heat grill to about 700 degrees. Using tongs, place romaine hearts sliced side down on the grill. After about 45 seconds to 1 minute, flip lettuce over and grill for about another 45 seconds to 1 minute. Remove from grill and plate.

 

Variation 1:

Drizzle plated romaine with balsamic vinegar.

 

Variation 2:

Sprinkle plated romaine with Old Bay seasoning and/or vegan parmesan cheese.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Comment

