The Brownie That Changed Everything

Before I went vegan, I didn’t really have a feeling towards brownies. In my mind, brownies weren’t really all that special. I’d eat them if they were there, but I wouldn’t go around saying things like “Man, I’ve got a real hankering for brownies.”

However, about a couple months ago I found a way to put sweet potatoes, you heard me right, into brownies. And since I’m always looking for a way to get more fruits and vegetables into my life, I thought I’d give it a shot. After all, I’m rather fond of vegan chocolate.

When I made them, my mind was completely blown. Before veganism, I would have never dreamed that sweet potatoes had any place in such a fantastically moist and delicious brownie.

Neither would I have dreamed that dessert could actually be kinda healthy.

But here we are.

Amazingness Sweet Potato Brownies (2)I mean, I still wouldn’t recommend eating the whole pan of brownies in one sitting (although one might feel inclined to do so). But these are a lot healthier than brownies that are loaded with sugar and refined white flour.

I’m pretty crazy about brownies now. Vegetables in dessert can do that to a person.

And since you’re probably salivating now (or at the very least, I’ve piqued your interest), I’ll give you my recipe now. 🙂

 

Amazingness Sweet Potato Brownies

Serves 16

 

Ingredients:

2-4 small sweet potatoes

½ cup whole wheat flour

¼ tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

3 tbsp agave

1 egg’s worth egg replacer

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup almond milk

1 tbsp vegan butter substitute

1 cup vegan chocolate chips (I like Enjoy Life brand)

 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Peel sweet potatoes and pierce with a fork. Wrap potatoes in foil and bake for 45 minutes, until soft. Using oven mitts, remove potatoes from foil and transfer to food processor and process until smooth (you may have to scrape down the sides once or twice).

Lower oven heat to 350 degrees. Oil and 8×8 deep baking dish with olive/coconut oil. Set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk flour, baking powder and salt. In a separate bowl, mix agave, egg replacer, vanilla, almond milk and sweet potato puree. Add flour mixture to sweet potato mixture and mix until combined.

Heat a small saucepan over medium low, and heat vegan butter until melted. Add chocolate chips and heat, stirring constantly, until completely melted. Scrape vegan chocolate into sweet potato/flour mix and stir to combine.

Scrape batter into oiled baking dish, smoothing it down with the back of a spoon. Bake brownies for 35 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Let cool about 15 minutes. Slice into 16 equal-sized squares and devour.

 

Enjoy your weekend 🙂

Leave a Comment

