Buffalo Cauliflower To The Rescue!

QOZ Buffalo Cauliflower (2)

Before I went vegan, I used to really like buffalo wings. Every New Year’s, they were a tradition. Almost every time my family and I went out to eat, wings were the appetizer. I can recall countless times going to the diner and ordering a huge plate of spicy bone-in wings with way too much bleu cheese on the side.

I probably don’t have to tell you how unhealthy that is. Because it’s BAD.

But since I’m vegan now, I have no interest in those batter-slathered fried chicken wings anymore. What was once a favorite of mine, I’ve now moved on from.

And although veganism has encouraged me to seek out healthier choices, I still enjoy the occasional spicy snack. So, what’s a vegan to do?

Buffalo Cauliflower to the rescue! Maybe my palate’s changed, but this recipe completely satisfies the craving for me. In fact, this is one of my favorite recipes of all time.

And once you know how to make it, I’m sure it’ll become a favorite of yours as well.

Cheers! 😉

QOZ Buffalo Cauliflower

Buffalo Cauliflower (adapted from peta.org)

makes four servings

1 cup water

1 cup flour (I like Bob’s Red Mill barley flour-it’s healthy but doesn’t have a taste. Can be made gf with Bob’s garbanzo flour, adding a little extra if needed.)

1 tbsp garlic powder

1 head cauliflower, cut into florets

1 cup hot sauce

2 tbsp vegan butter substitute

 

Preheat your oven to 450. Mix water, flour and garlic powder in a small bowl. Place cauliflower in a large bowl and pour the flour mixture over it, mixing until all the cauliflower is coated. Put cauliflower on a baking dish and bake for 15 minutes.

While the cauliflower is baking, put vegan butter substitute in a microwave-safe bowl and melt for 20 seconds, until liquefied. Stir in hot sauce. When cauliflower is done, pour hot sauce mixture on cauliflower (a basting brush makes this a lot easier) and bake again for 8 minutes.

Enjoy! Serve with celery and carrots, if you like. You could also serve it with your favorite vegan bleu cheese recipe, or hummus.

 

Have a great Wednesday! 🙂

 

Leave a Comment

